Gov. Abiodun Appoints 8 New Perm Secs - THE BUSINESS PACKAGE


Sunday, December 22, 2019

Gov. Abiodun Appoints 8 New Perm Secs

...retains, redeploys others 


In order to position the State public service for greater efficiency and effectiveness, the Governor of Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun, weekend announced the appointment of eight (8) new permanent secretaries.


Sixteen (16) old permanent secretaries retained their portfolios while twelve (12) others swapped ministries, agencies and parastatals in a major reshuffle since Gov Abiodun assumed office in May.


Penultimate Friday, when the former Head of Service, Engr Lanre Bisiriyu, alongside 11 Permanent Secretaries bowed out of the public service of the State, the Governor promised that he would apply merit in the new leadership of the State civil bureaucracy.


He reaffirmed last week while swearing in the new head of service in the State, Mrs Amope Chokor that the important status of the State civil and public servants in the successful implementation of our building our state together agenda would guide appointment into Management positions in the Civil service with dedication, commitment and professionalism that as key ingredients.


The newly appointed Permanent Secretaries were chosen from the directors’ cadre in the state civil service. They include Ms Fadimitu Olusola, Engr. Ojetola Razak, Mr Sodeinde Olukunle and Sotubo Olurotimi.


The rest are: Orekoya Bolaji, Lukan Jubril, Benson Lateef and Sorunke Dotun.


Dr. Sorunke Dotun, a veterinary doctor was assigned to be in charge of the Ministry of Agriculture. Until his appointment, he was Director Veterinary Services in the same Ministry. Mr. Sotubo Olurotimi was posted to the Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs. He holds degrees in Sociology and Social Works and was formerly Director of Social Welfare in the Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare.


The newly appointed permanent secretary for the Ministry of Housing is a trained Estate Manager and member of the Institute of Revenue Rating and Valuation.  He is Mr. Orekoya Bolaji. Ms. Fatudimu Olushola, holds degrees in Anthropology and Integrated Rural Development. She is the newly appointed permanent secretary, Ministry of Community Development and Cooperatives. Mr. Ojetola Rasak, the new Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment, trained as an Electrical Engineer and he is a registered Engineer and member of Nigeria Institute of Management. 


Also appointed Permanent Secretary is Mr. Benson Lateef for the Ministry of Forestry. His counterpart in the Ministry of Rural Development is Mr. Lukan Olukunle who was elevated from his former position as director at the Bureau of Lands and Survey. 


The former director of finance and accounts at the Hospital Management Board, Mr. Sodeinde Olukunle will resume as Permanent Secretary at the Bureau of State Pensions. Retained in their previous offices are: Engr. Ademolake (Works and Infrastructure); Dr. Adesanya Ayinde (Health); Kunle Osota (Local Government and Chieftancy Affairs); Dr. Nafiu Aigoro (Hospital Management Board) and Mrs. Mojisola Dosunmu (Teaching Service Commission). 


Also to continue to function in their present ministries and agencies are: Mrs. Irene Kokumo (Bureau of Local Government Pensions); Mr. Dolapo Odulana (Bureau of Protocol and Ceremonials); Dr. Kasali Olabimtan (Local Government Service Commission); Mrs. Yetunde Oresanya (Ministry of Justice) and Dr. (Mrs.) Oluranti Oladeinde (Women Affairs and Social Development). 


The rest who retained their portfolios are: Mr. Adebowale Oyeneye (Public Service Transformation Office); Mr. Lanrewaju Saka (Bureau of Cabinet and Special Services); Mr. Shamusideen Mosuro (Bureau of Government House and General Services); Mr. Adesupo Awere (Information and Strategy); and Mr. Michael Idowu (Treasury Office/Accountant General). 


According to the statement Mr. Kolawole Fagbohun would move from Ministry of Youths and Sports to Bureau of Service Matters; Mr. Hassan Adekunle moves to the Ministry of Finance from the Ministry of Budget and Planning while his erstwhile colleague at the Bureau of State Pensions, Mrs Olufunmilayo Dada would take over from him. Mrs. Salimot Ottun moves from the Ministry of Culture and Tourism to the Bureau of Political Affairs and Administration and the former permanent secretary at the Ministry of Housing now takes charge of the Ministry of Youths and Sports.


The former Permanent Secretary Ministry of Environment, Mrs. Yetunde Dina is now the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Urban and Regional Planning. Mr. Olubola Aikulola, formerly of the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology would become the permanent secretary in the Ministry of Commerce. Mrs. Olaseni Ogunleye moves from the Ministry of Agriculture to the Ministry of Education and Mr. Fatai Ogunlana would vacate his seat at the Bureau of Establishment and Training and resume at the Civil Service Commission.


Mr. Abayomi Bajela would cease to function as the permanent secretary, Bureau of Political Affairs and Administration and commence operations in the Office of the Governor. Mrs. Melutia Ogunremi moves from the Ministry of Community Development and Cooperatives to Ministry Culture and Tourism, while Mrs. Lydia Fajounbo goes from Ministry of Commerce and Industry to the Bureau of Establishment and Training in the same capacity.


While congratulating the new permanent secretaries, Gov Abiodun charged them to be fair, firm and professional in the discharge of the responsibilities of their new offices. He noted that “their political neutrality is a desideratum for the successful implementation of our Building Our Future Together Agenda, which is anchored on focused and qualitative governance and to create the enabling environment for a public private sector partnership, which we consider fundamental to the creation of an enduring economic development and individual prosperity of the people of Ogun.” 


All the appointments and redeployments, the statement concludes, take immediate effect.


Kunle Somorin 

Chief Press Secretary to Governor Dapo Abiodun

No comments:

Post a Comment