Monday, December 23, 2019


 A call has gone to all those who benefitted from the good old days of Nigeria's educational system not to sit aloof but rather strive to always give back to the system.

Making this call recently was the Vice Chancellor of University of Ilorin, Prof Sulyman Age Abdulkareem while speaking as the Special Guest at the Annual General Meeting of Government Secondary School Ilorin,Old Boys Association. 

According to a statement by the Public Relations Executive of the  GSS Old Boys Association, Mr. Tope Adaramola, the Vice Chancellor in his lecture entitled “The Secret of Success’’ rued the present decadence in the nation's educational system and implored former students who had passed through the system to always see ways they could join hands to revive the school system. 

He specifically called on all the Old Boys of Government Secondary School, Ilorin which was his alma mata to contribute their quota in redirecting the system back to the ideals of academic excellence, diligence and integrity which stood the school out as one of the most outstanding in Nigeria .

 According to him, the value he personally imbibed while at the school inspired his strong belief that success in life should be pivoted on hardwork, diligence and tenacity of purpose  as against the wrong belief of many in the younger generation about success through fortuitous circumstances.

In his speech, the National President of the Old Boys Association, Engineer, Sulaimoan Alapansanpa appealed to the Kwara State Government to succour the school through provision of core science teachers, labouratories and perimenter fence.

During the AGM, election was held for new officers to pilot the affairs of the Association in the next two years. Engineer Sulaiman Yahaya Alapansanpa was reelected President; while Alhaji Toyin Muhammed,  Mr Olaseni Ibiwoye (SAN) and Alhaji Rasheed Salako were returned as Ist, 2nd, and 3rd, Vice Presidents respectively. Mr Olarinoye Tunde emerged as the National Secretary while Tope Adaramola emerged as the Public Relations Executive with Toyin Yusuf as Assistant Secretary, Musa Mohammed as National Treasurer. Others are Alh Abubakar Zubair as Legal Adviser, Aremu Funsho Mutiu as Auditor, Olowojolu Francis Idowu became Financial Secretary

Awards were also given to eminent Old Boys, amongst them, the Olomu of Omuaran, Oba Raheem Oladele Adeoti; Alhaji Olayiwola Kamaldeen, Chief P.A Olorunisola, Alhaji M.S Koro, Alahaji Mudi Gold, Engineer Olanrewaju Sagaya, Chief Joshua Ogunlowo, Prof. Sulaiman Age Abdulkareem, Dr Segun Ajuwon , Alh Ganiyu Ogunleye and Mr Olusegun Adeyemi Adekunle.

No comments:

Post a Comment