NUJ Awards: We'll continue to celebrate Excellence - Gov. Abiodun - THE BUSINESS PACKAGE


Sunday, December 13, 2020

NUJ Awards: We'll continue to celebrate Excellence - Gov. Abiodun

.... as Osipitan, Odemakin bag Most Outstanding Information Officer's Award

The Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has assured that his administration would continue to support, appreciate and celebrate hard work, talents and excellence as this would spur, encourage and motivate others and bring about healthy competition.

Governor Abiodun who made this known at the Dinner and Awards night of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Ogun State Information Chapel said this was to appreciate the officers who have distinguished themselves in their contribution to the Ministry, Government and State at large.

Represented by his Chief of Staff, Alhaji Shuaib Salisu at the Dinner and Awards night held at the O.K Events Centre, Ibara Housing, Abeokuta as part of activities lined up for the 2020 Press Week, Governor Abiodun thumbs up information officers for their role in positively projecting the image of the government charging them not to relent.

At the event, Mr. Femi Osipitan, attached to Ministry of Information & Strategy and Alhaja Waliat Odemakin, the sub-editor, Ogun State Information Service were awarded as Outstanding Information Officers, Male and Female categories respectively for the year 2020.
Presenting the Awards, the Chief of Staff to the Governor personally gave each awardees N50,000 cash backings  charging them not to relent in the discharge of their duties to the State while imploring them to do more by propagating the agenda of Governor Dapo Abiodun which he said is anchored on the five cardinal points code named I.S.E.Y.A.

Speaking on the Award categories and the modalities for picking the most outstanding officers, the Chairman of the Union, Comrade Akinwale Olanrewaju said, "we made available nomination forms for all our members to fill who they believe deserve the awards, and those with the highest votes were compiled, scrutinized and adjured as truly deserving the awards".

In an interview with one of the recipients, Mr. Femi Osipitan, revealed that receiving Awards is a call to more work, promising never to relent in whatever value or virtues that were seen in him that earned him the victory as Outstanding Information Officer of the year while appreciating other information officers for the honour and privilege to be so awarded.

Other award recipients are Mr. Tunde Odunewu (Outstanding Photojournalist), and Mrs. Modupe Salabiu (Most Selfless Officer) while group awards such as Outstanding Unit (Print) and Outstanding Unit (Electronics) goes to Ogun State Information Service (OGIS) and Giant Stride respectively.

The Commissioner for Agriculture, Dr. Adeola Odedina and his counterpart from Ministry of Special Duties, Barr. Femi Ogunbanwo were awarded the Commissioner of the Year and Media Friendly Personality respectively while Chief Oluyinka Kufile, Balogun Abidemi Rufai and the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information and Strategy, Alhaji Abiodun Awere bagged Media Friendly, Philanthropic and Outstanding Performance Awards respectively.

*Femi Osipitan*

No comments:

Post a Comment