AMHOSA '91 gives back to Alma Matter, celebrates one-day governor alumna By 'Dris-K - THE BUSINESS PACKAGE


Wednesday, August 18, 2021

AMHOSA '91 gives back to Alma Matter, celebrates one-day governor alumna By 'Dris-K

The 1991 set of Angus Memorial High, Igbobi, Lagos has supported 10 brilliant  students through payment of the National Examinations Council's Senior School Certificate (SSCE) at its 30th Anniversary tagged "Apart But Together".

The Alumni Association also used the occasion to celebrate Miss Jemima Marcus, a 2020 graduate of the school who emerged winner of the Lagos State Spelling Bee Competition to become a One-Day Governor while also donating 30 utility stools to support the science laboratory of their Alma Matter.

A release by the Public Relations Officer, Mr Kayode Fatoye states that AMHOSA '91 Set made the presentations to the school's representatives during the 30th Anniversary which was held concurrently in Lagos and United Kingdom.

At the event, the new Executive Committee Members led by its President, Mr Hamzat Olubiyi Anwoju was also inaugurated to the admiration of members to steer the ship of the Alumni Association for the next dispensation.

Other EXCO members are Mrs Abosede Olowookere-Daniel(Vice President), Mr Idris Katib (General Secretary), Ms Muibat Ajibade (Assistant General Secretary), Mr Abraham Idowu (Financial Secretary), Mrs Omotunde Dosumu-Nestor(Treasurer) and Mr Kayode Fatoye(Public Relations Officer).

The set also used the occasion to celebrate some of its prominent teachers who taught them over thirty years ago.The teachers who were present at the event are Mr M.O Akinyemi, Social Studies teacher, Mr Eric, French teacher and Mr Oluga, Business Studies teacher.

In his remarks,the National Vice President of AMHOSA, Barr. Abayomi Tijani pointed out unequivocally that the 1991 set of Angus Memorial High School is the best of all sets produced by the school, adding that contributions of the set in positively positioning and projecting its Alma Matter were praiseworthy.

Barr. Tijani said the set was lucky to have resourceful alumni like its pioneer President, Mr Segun Akinniran, the substantive President, Mr Hamzat Olubiyi Anwoju and Mr Adetayo Adesanya who is the current secretary general of the umbrella AMHOSA, describing him as the engine room of the Association.

In his remarks, one of the old teachers who later became an accomplished journalist, Mr Eric said with nostalgia he was happy to be associated with the Alumni Association, noting that he was impressed that the ideals of Angus Memorial High School,Igbobi, Yaba had produced great men and women from various walks of life.

Recounting his experience, Mr Eric said being a very young corps member and pioneer teacher at the inception of the school in 1980,he was responsible for teaching students some of who were older than he was and eulogized the 1991 for doing the school proud.

In his speech, the newly elected President, Mr Hamzat Olubiyi Anwoju promised that "we shall be loyal to our members throughout our tenure of office", stressing that the new leadership would start where his predecessor Mr Segun Akinniran handed over the baton and do everything in the best interest of the Alumni Association.

He also eulogised the commitment of the Planning Committee ably led by Mr Thomas David for the accomplishment of a worthy anniversary.

No comments:

Post a Comment