Tuesday, December 19, 2023


Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) Ogun State Chapter  organised the 2023 edition of her Information Technology Merit Award (OGITMA) which was held at the Simeon Adebo Library, Kuto, Abeokuta on Saturday, 2nd December, 2023. 

The award which was initiated by Prof. Mrs. Onashoga, a past Chairman of the association was established to encourage information technology experts who has brought tremendous improvement to the development of Information technology in the state and members who have also distinguished themselves in the Imformation Technology field. 

Hence, OGITMA is an award of excellence for commitment. The event was attended by notable IT Legends and great public icons including the National Executives of NCS -. The NCS National Deputy President, Mr. Charles Onyeukwu, FNCS; NCS Southwest Coordinator, Mr. Tunde Ogunremi; and the NCS National Executive Secretary, Mr. Segun Adekunle, FNCS. Also in attendance was the immediate past National NCS President and illustrious icon of the chapter, Prof. Adesina Sodiya, FNCS, Hon. Abiola Ogundeko,  among others.

The outgoing NCS chairman, Mr. Tola Ajagbe welcomedf guests and IT professionals across the state to the event. He  canvassed for inclusion of more IT professionals in the state as the membership drive is important to achieving goals set by any organization. He reeled out the achievements of his administration among others to include take off of the Chapter’s Secretariat Building. He encourages the incoming administration to ensure that the building is given priority amidst other plans.
In his address, the keynote speaker for this year’s OGITMA, Dr. Niran Oyekale, Chief Executive Officer, Commit Technology and Consult Ltd. emphasized the importance of IT Education as an impetus for digital economy and National advancement. In his words: “Embracing Versatile IT Education is not merely an option; it is an imperative. It is the compass guiding us through the ever-changing terrain of the digital landscape, ensuring that we not only keep pace with technological advancements but also lead and innovate.”  

He charged all IT Professionals in all spheres of life to work together to lay good foundation for digital economy that is not only robust and efficient but one that empowers every individual to thrive in the digital age.
The Incoming Chairman who also doubles as the Chairman, 2023 OGITMA Planning Committee, Prof. Mrs. Rebecca Vincent lauded the achievements of the Tola Ajagbe-led administration especially for sustaining the OGITMA programme. She listed the award categories and the winner in each category as follows:
1.  IT Legend of the Year:  This award category is for doyen in the IT Profession (within the Academics or Industry) who has tremendously imparted on the use and application of IT with iconic impressions over the last 35 years.
 Winner: Professor A. T. Akinwale
2.  IT Company of the Year:  An award designated for the most innovative IT firm with client centric and cutting edge solutions deployed in the State.
Winner: Upperlink Systems
3.  Most IT Driven Computer-Based Test Centre:  This award category is for a Computer-Based Test Centre with state-of-the-art IT infrastructure for testing and examination in line with global Prometric Test Centres.
Winner: Gateway Polytechnic an Igbesa CBT Centre
4.  Most Outstanding Member:  This award is specially for member of the State Chapter of NCS with unparalleled contributions, commitment and resourcefulness to the Society.
Winner: Mrs. Elizabeth Emuegubi Badejo
5.  Most IT Driven Microfiance Bank:  The award designated for a recipient Microfinance Bank that has transcended the traditional micro banking with the deployment of diverse IT platforms to ease its banking operations.
Winner: Lavender Microfinance Bank Plc., Abeokuta.
6.  IT Human Capital Enabler:  This Award is for a personality, who naturally is not an IT Professional but has immensely deployed IT resources to enhance the service of his/her Organisation or Institution, in the process, reshaping the mold of Nigerian Society.
Winner: Alhaja Selimotu Ottun (Retired Head of Service, Ogun State Government)
7.  IT Innovation Driven Personality:  This award category is for a personality who has shown unwavering support for the ideals and vision of the State Chapter; including a visionary contribution in the development of IT industry.
Winner: Dr. Ademola Adenubi (Founder/CEO, Edutams)

Earlier, the newly elected state executives had their investiture and swearing-in. The NCS National Deputy President, Mr. Charles Onyeukwu, FNCS. The new Executives of NCS, Ogun State Chapter is to be led by Prof. Olufunke Vincent, Chairman. Mr Olatunde Tijani emerged as the Vice  Chairman while Mr. Onaolapo Sodiq is the General Secretary.
Others include Mr. Taiwo Raji, Treasurer, Mr. Neye Adesola, Financial Secretary, Mr. Opakunle Victor - PRO, Mr. Adekunle Temitayo, Welfare/Social Secretary, Mr. Tunde Oyeledun - Assistant Secretary, Mrs. Elizabeth Badejo,  Auditor and Mr. Tola Ajagbe, IPC.

In her acceptance speech as the Chairman, Prof. Olufunke Vincent emphasized her commitment to the vision of the Society through the instrumentality of teamwork with her executives and forming strategic partnerships with the government at various levels, organizations, well-meaning philanthropists, and individuals while building on the existing ones to achieve tremendous success for the Society and the IT professionals in the State.
She thereafter beckons on all members for their support, encouragement, advice, and prayers to succeed in her tenure.


No comments:

Post a Comment