ASUU-UNAAB Awards Scholarships to Indigent Students. - THE BUSINESS PACKAGE


Saturday, January 6, 2024

ASUU-UNAAB Awards Scholarships to Indigent Students.

 _… Calls FG to Settle Eight Months’ Salary Arrears_  

The Academic Staff Union of Universities of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (ASUU-UNAAB) Branch has awarded scholarships to financially disadvantaged students within the University. 

The presentation of the scholarship took place during the Union's Congress held at the 1,000 Seater Capacity Auditorium in the University.

In his Opening Remarks, Dr. Oluwagbemiga Adeleye, the Chairman of the Union, expressed gratitude to members of the union and acknowledged the cooperative spirit accorded him since he assumed office.

Dr. Adeleye seized the opportunity to urge the Federal Government to settle the withheld eight months' worth of salary, including the promotion arrears spanning 2018 to 2023.

He said that the initiation of the scholarship award by the Branch was approved by the Union's National Executive Council (NEC).

Providing an overview of the Union's status, Prof. Olusiji Sowande, the National Treasurer of the Union commended the Branch executives for introducing scholarships for indigent students. He stressed the importance of members understanding the Union's constitution and encouraged the continuous pursuit of knowledge. 

Prof. Sowande emphasised the Union's commitment to selfless service in the academic sector, while urging ASUU members to maintain consistency in their daily activities.

ASUU-UNAAB Chairman, Dr. Oluwagbemiga Adeleye (Left) presenting the cheque to one of the beneficiaries_

He affirmed the Union's support for students and other labour unions in the spirit of solidarity and reiterated that the local chapter's provision of scholarships to indigent students was supported by the Union's constitution. 

The highlight of the event was the presentation of cheques to the deserving beneficiaries. 

Notable recipients included Ogundare Wasiu from the Department of Chemistry, College of Physical Sciences (COLPHYS), and Idoko James from the Department of Plant Physiology and Crop Production (PPCP), College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT), both were recipients of the National Scholarship of the Union.

Additionally, Aladejobi Michael from the Department of Computer Science, COLPHYS; Abdulrasaq Faheez from the Department of Statistics, COLPHYS; and Jeli Toheeb from the Department of Chemistry, COLPHYS received the Branch's scholarships. 

Afolabi Sunday from Animal Physiology (APH), College of Animal Science and Livestock Production (COLANIM), was also a beneficiary of the Branch's scholarship.

Expressing gratitude on behalf of the scholarship recipients, Afolabi Sunday commended ASUU-UNAAB for their generosity, while he appreciated both the National and Branch bodies of ASUU for the impactful gesture. 

He assured the Union that the beneficiaries would strive not to disappoint in their academic pursuits.

No comments:

Post a Comment